Elementary School with Bilingual Classes

Space for Discoveries

We teach up to 150 school children in two learn families (grades 1 to 3 and 4 to 6). We offer the children a positive environment, which always welcomes them with new tasks and learning opportunities. As primary level educational specialists, we understand ourselves literally as learning supporters.

We work with our students according to the Klax pedagogy. This includes the method of self-organised learning: Together, we define individual learning paths with each child, according to the principle of "learning with goals". In this way, they learn over time to independently plan their learning pathways and to classify their own level of competence. This promotes a reflected learning attitude and gives our pupils the feeling of being responsible for their own learning process from an early stage.

What we offer

  • Emphasis on art: more art lessons than at other schools
  • digital technology in the classroom
  • Class sizes between 12 and 22 children
  • Teaching teams: there is always a teacher and an educator working with the children in all classes
  • Club-Line with creative courses in the afternoon
  • English from year 1 on
  • Bilingual classes
  • Various sports and exercise classes
  • Swimming lessons starting in primary school
  • Fresh breakfast, lunch and afternoon snacks every day together with other students

Bilingual Classes

In our new bilingual class English and German will be of equal importance. Classes will be taught according to the immersion principle, the most successful language acquisition system. In this way, we prepare children and young people for a globalized, networked world. The students will be taught by a native English-speaking class teacher and supported by a German-speaking educator. We are teaching German and maths in German; English and science in English; art, music and PE either in German or English.

Immersion as a Learning Method

Learning the language is never the explicit goal of a lesson. Students do not study vocabulary or grammatical concepts. Language is used in context and across all subjects. In immersion programs subjects are taught in the target language instead of teaching the language. Students learn to speak, read and write in both languages. They will be able to speak colloquially, read and understand difficult texts and debate and present in both languages. They will also be able to write difficult and linguistically correct texts.

Immersion programs have been studied extensively and have shown higher success rates than ordinary foreign language programs in Canada, USA and Germany. For further information see the EUROPA-study of the University of Kiel.

A Great Variety of Projects

Timetable

The timetable shows a change between instructive and active learning phases. The times for our meals together - breakfast, lunch and snack - are also integrated into the timetable.

Secondary School

The choice of secondary school after the sixth grade is an important decision for all parents and children. With the completion of the sixth school year at Klax School, our children are self-organized, creative and competent and thus ready for the next step. We want to accompany our students on their way and support them in their development.

With the change into the middle school of the Klax school the children meet friends and classmates again. In addition, they stay in their familiar inspiring environment and meet familiar learning methods as well as pedagogues who perceive them as growing personalities.

More Infos

Get to know us on one of our informative afternoons. We will show you the class rooms, present our educational concept and explain our project work. Self-organised learning, modern media education, and the perfect class sizes from primary school to graduation. Find upcoming events here.

You can find a breakdown of the school fees and possibilities to reduce them here here.

We have gathered all the information you need to register at Klax Schule here for you.

Register now

Thank you for your interest in Klax School! You can register your child without obligation at our school using the online registration form. Registration is possible for all years at any time in the current school year, provided there are still places available in the desired period. We will inform you about the next step in the application process after we have reviewed the information.

Good to know

Grundstufe mit bilingualem Zweig

Raum für Entdeckungen

Bei uns lernen bis zu 150 Schulkinder in zwei Lernfamilien (Klassenstufen 1 bis 3 und 4 bis 6). Wie bieten den Kindern eine positive Umgebung, die sie stets mit neuen Aufgaben und Lernchancen begrüßt. Als pädagogische Fachkräfte der Grundstufe begreifen wir uns als Lernbegleitende.

Wir arbeiten mit unseren Schülerinnen und Schülern nach der Klax-Pädagogik. Dazu gehört die Methode des selbstorganisierten Lernens: Gemeinsam definieren wir mit jedem Kind individuelle Lernwege und Ziele. Durch das Lernen mit Zielen versetzen wir die Kinder in die Lage, ihre Lernwege selbstständig zu planen und ihren Kompetenzstand einzuordnen. Das fördert eine reflektierte Lernhaltung. Schon früh übernehmen unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler Verantwortung für ihren eigenen Bildungsprozess. 

Was wir Ihnen bieten

  • kleine Klassen mit zwölf bis 22 Kindern
  • Teach-Teams: in allen Klassen arbeiten immer ein Lehrer oder eine Lehrerin und eine pädagogische Fachkraft mit den Kindern
  • Englisch von der ersten Klasse an
  • einen bilingualen Zweig
  • verschiedene Sport- und Bewegungskurse
  • Schwimmen ab der Grundstufe

Bilingualer Zweig

In unserer bilingualen Klasse sind Deutsch und Englisch gleichwertige Unterrichtssprachen. So bereiten wir die Kinder und Jugendlichen auf eine globalisierte, vernetzte Welt vor. Eine englischsprachige Klassenleitung unterrichtet die Schülerinnen und Schüler und eine deutschsprachige pädagogische Fachkraft begleitet sie. Wir unterrichten Deutsch und Mathematik auf Deutsch; Englisch und den Sachunterricht auf Englisch; Kunst, Musik und Sport auf Deutsch oder Englisch.

Spracherwerb durch Immersion

Bei der erfolgreichen Lernmethode Immersion wird die Fremdsprache wie die Muttersprache durch den alltäglichen Gebrauch erlernt und nicht ausschließlich durch den Unterricht. Grammatik oder Vokabeln stehen dabei nicht im Vordergrund, die Fremdsprache wird in alltäglichen Situationen gesprochen. So können sich die Kinder und Jugendlichen bald in beiden Sprachen umgangssprachlich ausdrücken. Es folgen die Lernschritte Fachtexte verstehen, in Diskussionen argumentieren und natürlich Texte schreiben.

Der Lernerfolg durch Immersion ist durch verschiedene Studien in Kanada, den USA, aber auch in Deutschland wissenschaftlich belegt worden (vgl. EUROPA-Studie der Universität Kiel).

Abwechslungsreiche Projekte

Stundenplan

Im Stundenplan wechseln sich instruktive und aktive Lernphasen ab. Die Zeiten für unsere gemeinsamen Mahlzeiten – Frühstück, Mittagessen und Vesper sind ebenfalls im Stundenplan integriert.

Weiterführende Schulen

Die Wahl der weiterführenden Schule nach dem sechsten Schuljahr ist eine wichtige Entscheidung für alle Eltern und Kinder. Mit dem Abschluss des sechsten Schuljahres an der Klax Schule sind unsere Kinder selbstorganisiert, kreativ und kompetent und somit bereit für den nächsten Schritt. Wir wollen unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler auf ihrem Weg weiter begleiten und sie in ihrer Entwicklung unterstützen. 

Mit dem Wechsel in die Mittelstufe der Klax Schule treffen die Kinder Freunde und Klassenkameraden wieder. Außerdem bleiben sie in ihrer gewohnten inspirierenden Umgebung und treffen auf ihnen vertraute Lernmethoden sowie Pädagoginnen, die sie als heranwachsende Persönlichkeiten wahrnehmen.

Mehr Informationen

Lernen Sie uns an unseren Tagen der offenen Tür kennen. Wir zeigen Ihnen unsere Räume, stellen Ihnen unser pädagogisches Konzept vor und beantworten Fragen rund um unsere Projektarbeit, das selbstorganisierte Lernen, optimale Klassengrößen und unsere Medienpädagogik. Kommende Termine finden Sie hier.

Eine Aufschlüsselung der Schulkosten sowie Möglichkeiten der Schulkostenreduzierung finden Sie hier.

Alle Informationen zur Anmeldung an der Klax Schule finden Sie hier.

Jetzt anmelden

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an der Klax Schule. Über unser Formular können Sie Ihr Kind unverbindlich anmelden. QuereinsteigerInnen sind bei uns herzlich willkommen, daher sind Anmeldungen für alle Klassenstufen jederzeit auch im laufenden Schuljahr möglich. Außerdem beantworten wir Ihnen unter „Alle Infos“ häufig gestellte Fragen zur Anmeldung, den erforderlichen Unterlagen und zu den Kosten.

Wissenswertes